My Johansson residency at Echo Echo Studios

My-Johansson image

“This is my last week in residence here at Echo Echo and I have no idea where time has flown to. I feel like I arrived two days ago here in Derry, and not a month ago, which will soon be the case. At the same time as I feel like I have been here forever. Either way I had no idea time could pass that quickly or maybe it has all just been a dream- but I really hope not!

I have been amazingly beautifully welcomed here in Derry, and gotten to know the fantastic people here whom form this company. As well as been given loads of space to research and begin the creation of my new piece in making, Now at once, collaborating with sound and light designer Barry Davis.

There has been brilliant artistic development, exchanges, discussions and input with the company and I also got the opportunity to work with Echo Echo’s outreach programmes who willingly threw themselves into my suggestions and followed the journey offered.

This week will see more creation and a lunchtime-sharing-performance on Thursday 29th June and I am looking forward to not have ran out of my time here completely yet. I will truly miss being here and am hoping to come back again!

Thank you Tonya, Ailbe, Baz, Anna, Steve, Zoe, Kelly, Ayesha, Dara and Mira for having me and to Echo Echo for providing me with this fantastic residence – companies like yours are so needed!”

My Johansson

Sweden

www.myjohansson.com

Upcoming performances by My Johansson

29 June, 13.00, Now at once, Echo Echo Dance Studios, Derry, Northern Ireland
15 July, 19.30, Negotiating space at ODF presents, The Old Fire Station, Oxford, UK https://oldfirestation.org.uk/
27 and 28 July, Nor I at Franje Arendal, in Arendal, Norway
4 August, 19.00 Commissioned works for Unga Dansare/Dans i Blekinge, Salongen, Karlskronas Konsthall, Karlskrona, Sweden
Leave a Reply

