Festival 2018 thanks and photos…

Echo Echo Festival Closing Concert with BASORK – image by Simon Alleyne

What a Festival we had this year with over 50 events taking place! So many highlights, connections and new friendships – and so many people and partners to thank.

We are truly humbled by the incredible feedback we have received already from audiences, participants and artists this year. Everyone has commented on the welcoming atmosphere at the Festival and throughout the city and region.

To all of the artists – thank you for bringing and sharing your work with a such a spirit of kindness and generosity. The quality of work and performances was exceptionally high.

To our audiences of all ages, returning and new, thank you for your warm appreciation and continued enthusiasm, and for genuinely contributing so much more than simply turning up to watch.

To the Festival funders, community partners and schools involved – thanks for supporting our Festival vision and for your continued encouragement to produce an inspiring and challenging event. The Festival would simply not be possible without the input of so many organisations and their individual staff members.

To all of the Echo Echo staff, directors, collaborators and colleagues behind the scenes – thanks for all of your hard work and dedication! A huge effort, often invisible, and an extraordinary level of commitment from a small team of people!

Echo Echo Festival of Dance and Movement will return in 2019!



Echo Echo Festival Team

  • Artistic Director – Steve Batts
  • Associate Artistic Director – Ayesha Mailey
  • Company Manager – Ailbe Beirne
  • Development Officer – Anna Nolan
  • Technical Manager – Barry Davis
  • Technical Support – Simme Wiesniewski, Freeda Gronowski
  • Echo Echo Ensemble – Ayesha Mailey, Kelly Quigley, Zoe Ramsey, Tonya Sheina
  • Publicity artwork and design – Ciaran Harley of zoocreative
  • Publicity support – Leeann Toland, Brian Fisher
  • Photography and video – Simon Alleyne


Echo Echo Festival Thanks

Thanks to Simonetta Alessandri, Jamie McCarthy, Tanya Soubry, Anne Gaelle-Thiriot, Kirsty Arnold, Mary Ann Hushlak, Anne Lok; Lucia Walker, Nastya Saevich, Tanya Fateeva, Masha Grudskaya, Genya Dybovskaia, Joleen McLaughlin, Amanda Koser, Stephanie Pawula, Ayesha Mailey, Kelly Quigley, Zoe Ramsey, Tonya Sheina; John Scott and Irish Modern Dance Theatre; Barbara Fuchs, Emily Welther and tanzfuchs-PRODUKTION; Manoli Moriaty, Brian Bridges and ISSTA; Mary Wycherley, La Cosa Preziosa, Rory Tangney and VOID; Wei-An Hwa; Ferenc Fehér and David Miko; Sahar Damoni; Susan Koper; rikilikemagic / Rachel Sheil; Julie Chapple and Maxine Chadburn (Future Leisure); Suahee Abro and Lucia Moretti (LBWL Collective); Linda Fearon, Cinzia Savoniti and Helen Hall (Luminous Soul); Zoe Uí Fhaoláin Green and Dingle Camphill Community; John Deery; Marty Coyle and all of BASORK. Thanks also to all of the participating artists funders, colleagues and supporters.

Thanks to all of the artists and companies from around the world who applied to the Festival Open Call. A record 212 entries this year!

Thanks to Gilly Campbell and all at Echo Echo’s principal funder ACNI and the National Lottery; Jacqueline Whoriskey, Ailish McDaid and all at Derry City and Strabane District Council; Gillian Goode and Esmée Fairbairn Foundation; Halifax Foundation NI.

Thanks to Department of Culture Heritage and Gaeltacht and Aoife O’Sullivan at DCHG for support with the Festival All-Ireland Outreach and Bursary Programme; and thanks to our venue partners and staff at Dance Ireland, Crescent Arts Centre, Firkin Crane, Galway Dance Project, An Lab Dingle, and The Dock Arts Centre.

Thanks to all of  the 2018 Festival Bursary recipients Emily Mickus, Marketa Formanova, Oran Leong, Wanting Wu, Maggie Breen and Selma Daniel.

Thanks to JP Conaghan and all at The Playhouse for supporting a Festival residency project; all at Crescent Arts Centre, Belfast; Derry Craft Village and Inner City Trust; Soda & Starch; Ulster University; Fiona Pender and Thornhill College; Audrey O’Donnell and St Cecilia’s College; Nadine Hegarty and Fireworks Dance; Donemana PS; St Patrick’s PS Donemana; Cumber Claudy PS; St Columcille’s PS Claudy; St Columba’s PS Newbuildings; St John’s PS; Aine Bradley and Good Shepherd PS; Sinead Crossan and Ardnashee College; Sevenoaks Care; Praxis Care; Christine O’Kane and U3A Foyle.

Thanks to Jim O’Neill, Carmel Mulrine, Meabh O’Neill, Majella Biernat, Roger and Marie Manktelow, Olek Wójcik, Liam Cunningham, Bernadette Sheils, Robin Wilson, Mollie Egan-Crossan, Seamus Kennedy, Gerry McGoldrick, Richard Walsh; to Echo Echo directors past and present – Deirdre Gillespie, Paul Johnston, Cath McBride, Esther Alleyne; and to everyone else who supported the Festival from near or far.


Echo Echo Festival Photo Albums (links to Facebook)

Manoli Moriaty & Two Ensembles Project at ISSTA 2018 / THE SHAKES by Simonetta Alessandri and company


HEROES by John Scott


Photos by Simon Alleyne










Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s